About Us

Ophthalmology Residency Program

The SAUSHEC Ophthalmology Residency is an integrated training program in the specialty of ophthalmology in the two military medical centers in San Antonio (San Antonio Military Medical Center and Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center). The Ophthalmology residency is a three-year program designed to meet or exceed the guidelines established by the American Board of Ophthalmology and the Residency Review Committee for Ophthalmology. Each year group consists of six resident slots - four are reserved for the U.S. Air Force and two are reserved for the U.S. Army. The residents have rotations at both military teaching hospitals in San Antonio. Each hospital is represented by teaching faculty in each of the ophthalmology subspecialties - Cornea & External Disease, Oculoplastics, Glaucoma, Pediatric Ophthalmology, Retina & Vitreous, Neuro-Ophthalmology and Ophthalmic Pathology. There is an active academic affiliation between the SAUSHEC Ophthalmology Residency and the ophthalmology residency at The University of Texas Health Science Center-San Antonio.

Contact Us

Program Director

Phone: (210) 292-6573
Fax: (210) 292-4796

Program Coordinator

Phone: (210) 292-6573
Fax: (210) 292-4796

Mailing Address

SAUSHEC Ophthalmology Residency
Attn: Program Coordinator
59SSS/MCST Ophthalmology
2200 Bergquist Drive Suite 1
Lackland AFB, TX 78236

Need to Update Your Information in DEERS? Click Here